Hobby, Reading

Why I Don’t Follow Trend

I was bored. I was also looking for idea for my assignments. Then I stared into my sister’ book shelf. That’s where I found Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella.

Another popular novel which doesn’t suit my taste.

I am pretty sure I won’t bother to read it if a friend of mine didn’t mention that book in other day. Actually I didn’t even remember for what reason she brought up that book in our conversation. But when someone mentioned a title, that implies she took an interest on that book, no matter if it’s negative interest or positive one. That alone intrigued me, so at the end I took the book from the shelf – and I read it.

I am not here to review this book, but I was irritated with the main heroine. When I finished reading it, it feels so mindfucked, in unpleasant way. Maybe it’s rather harsh to put it, but I don’t really get it. Is that book very good because it successfully delivers how dimwit a shopaholic can be – or is it just poorly-written?

I never read a story of ‘bad person’ which makes me completely unable to understand her mind, not to mention feel sympathy for her. She is simply.. a dimwit. It’s a novel about her dimwitted plot and ideas. Yet another dimwitted idea appeared before her mind which let her gain some fame and a decent guy fell for her. I should say, the ending is unrealistic.

There’s another possibility though. It’s a story about single, career and metropolitan chick. She is a modern woman. Since the gap of our backgrounds is very large, it’s difficult for me to understand and appreciate it. A Chicklit, huh? It’s been long time ago since I bought Teenlit series.

I never followed a trend, I never asked for someone’s recommendation because I am not sure if our taste would be the same, and I don’t want to be disappointed. And maybe I am even a bit more extreme. Sometimes I refuse to read any popular book. I refuse to hear and accept how great it is before knowing it with my own eyes. Well, yes. Personal preferences are not topics to be argued. Sometimes your taste doesn’t suit your friend’s. But I hate the after-effect so much. You decide to believe the hype that something is indeed good, but then it proves you wrong simply because you have different taste.

At least my friend doesn’t convince me to read this Chicklit. She only said that she likes it and I was curious.

Anyway, please, if any of you happen to pass by but liking the book, could you tell me what exactly the part you like about it? I am wondering if there is something I miss.

2 thoughts on “Why I Don’t Follow Trend”

  1. The next time I learn a weblog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as this 1. I mean, I do know it was my choice to read, even so I in fact thought youd have something attention-grabbing to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you could fix for those that werent too busy in search of attention.

    1. Yeah. You surely stated fact. Unfortunately by whining, I learn how to use English, so the content would most likely sound like a child who starts learning her first word. The usage of words might be inappropriate or turning out into something harsher than what I actually meant.

      I suggest, next time, be sure to look for blog with specific purpose – because this one is personal blog. Some people have blog to talk about their particular hobbies and I am sure it contains more interesting information to read. But some people also keep another blog to write their daily life or thoughts, and to be noted: it’s not an article. It’s not written for other people, but for the writer himself. That’s why it’s a personal blog. As what I’ve said at the very start of the entry, I had no intention of reviewing the book, but simply stating out loud how the book annoys me 🙂

      Thanks for your feedback though, because as expected, this entry is rather shallow – but alas, I need a topic to get practice for my English.

      Your comment was filtered as spam, by the way. Not sure if you are indeed bot, so I’d just reply. Also I don’t think you should use company’s account to leave personal comment. I edited out your website link in case you are indeed a bot. I don’t like implied advertising. Please pardon me if you are real human.. -.-

Leave a comment